Hey, Pork You!

I had a freaking kick-ass day, yo. I nailed a presentation at work I had been stressing about for months, and things are starting to come together. Woohoo! So, I heated up some leftover fried rice and got working in the kitchen to celebrate. What a nerd, right?

Life is busy. I don’t have time to always slow roast things in the oven, dammit. I’ve been so busy getting ready for my Dad’s visit this weekend that I figured a slow cooker pork roast would be a great thing to have when he was here. We could stuff it in some hollowed-out baked potatoes, or eat a pulled-pork panini (on homemade bread, of course) or if there are leftovers, I can stuff it into one of my freshly-baked pitas for lunches during the week. All good ideas.

I think I’m in the process of cooking my slow-cooker best pork roast ever. I think. I’ll get back to you with the verdict in the morning. (Morning update: Um, yes. It’s fantastic. Please see pic.) So, what did I do that is so special? I rubbed that motha of a mammoth roast with my spice rub, let it sit in the fridge overnight and get all yummly, then seared it on all sides in my gigantic sauté pan (thank you, Amazon.com for the Cuisinart sale months ago, that thing is a-MAZ-ing!) then deglazed my pan with some beer and put that sucker along with the pan drippings and the rest of the beer into the crock pot on low for 10 hours. It was super crusty when I put it in there, and I think it’s gonna come out great. It already smells incredible in here, and I’m only a few hours in.

Chrissy’s Pork Spice Rub:

4 Tablespoons dried minced onion flakes
1 teaspoon cracked black pepper
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon curry powder
1 teaspoon hot paprika
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon (yeah, sounds weird, but it works here, trust me)
1 teaspoon granulated garlic

I think it’s worth it to do the sear, although that roast was so big it was a little difficult to flip over. I had to hold it to sear the sides and ends (about 5-7 minutes each side). Not having an audience when I was fighting with the pork was probably for the best. It must have looked hilarious. That thing is huge, awkward and unruly.

Oh, and I made my Ma’ma’s BBQ sauce to go with it. THAT is amazing stuff. Can’t wait to try it on my pork. 🙂

Anyway, that’s it for now. I have to clean Dad’s room, bathroom, vacuum, have a few martinis, then finally go to bed. Nite, goofballs. Eat pork & be merry! Xo

Leave a Reply

