Like Mardi Gras for your Hair

olive-oil-hair-mask

OK, maybe that’s a little extreme, but but you DO wear a mask at Mardi Gras. And THAT is what this is all about. A fantastic hair mask.

I am completely obsessed with the haircut I am going to get when I go back home to NJ in the next few weeks, (short stacked angled bob) and in the meantime, of course I cannot stand my current hair. I can’t do anything with it, the layers are too long, the ends are too dry, the color is drab, and all I want to do it chop it all off and start again with fresh, healthy, awesome locks. So, in the meantime, I need to survive the next few weeks with what I’ve got, so I did some research for hair masks that used ordinary pantry staples. There were SOOOOO many ideas. Ultimately, I ended up creating my own special mixture and had pretty excellent results.

Please keep in mind that I have blonde, superfine, super-straight hair. And A LOT of it. Which means that I have a ton of hair, but it tangles easily and I usually cannot get away with not washing it for a day, because its also somewhat greasy after more than a day. Awesome, right? Don’t waste your time being jealous. Make this mask and you will love your hair again, too. πŸ™‚

Chrissy’s Homemade Hair Mask:

1/2 can Coconut Milk (yes, the canned kind, not the kind that you drink that is in your refrig)
1/4 cup Olive Oil
1/4 cup Honey

I used my immersion blender to make sure it was really well mixed, then put it in an old pump-style shampoo dispenser.

To use: Saturate hair from root to tip with the Hair Mask. Massage into scalp and leave for as long as you can. (I was doing my weekly cleaning and catching up on TV shows, so I left it on about 2 hours or so). Rinse completely and shampoo as usual. You will probably have to shampoo twice to get it all out. Then condition as usual. Towel dry hair and then blow dry if absolutely necessary once it’s almost completely dry. (I have to, because otherwise it frizzes slightly and I hate that!)

HOLY HECK was my hair soft, shiny, and super non-greasy for like 2+ days after that. Whoah. I will definitely be doing this again. Especially since I had made enough for like 3 or 4 applications. πŸ™‚

5/15/13 Update: Um, please be mindful what container you put this in. I found that even in my climate-controlled place, the bottle I chose to store this in ultimately after a few weeks practically exploded all over my bathroom. Perhaps keep it in the fridge, or just make enough for 1 application at a time. Yeah, That’s what I am going to do. πŸ™‚

Happy Hair Masking, goofballs. xo

Leave a Reply

