I’m No Granola

…but I do love to EAT granola. Just because I don’t want to grow my own organic grains, source my honey from local bee keepers, and hike 30 miles wearing hemp fabric and Berkinstocks doesn’t mean I shouldn’t be able to enjoy the taste of granola. In bar form this time. Yep, made some totally yummy chewy-ish granola bars today.

20130414-182635.jpg

Chewy-ish granola bars:

2 1/2 cups Rice Krispies
2 cups quick oats
1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter
1/2 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 cup mini chocolate chips (optional- for topping)

In a large bowl, stir together the rice cereal, oats, and raisins. Set aside. Grease a 9×13 inch baking dish with cooking spray.

Combine the brown sugar and corn syrup in a small saucepan over medium heat. Heat just until boiling, then remove from heat and stir in peanut butter and vanilla until smooth. Pour over the cereal and oat mixture, and mix well.

Press into the prepared pan using the back of a large spoon. I sprinkled the top of mine with a few mini chocolate chips at this point. Allow to cool, then cut into squares.

So so so good. I cut them & put them in plastic zippy bags and kept them in the fridge so I wouldn’t eat them all at once.

I also made bread this weekend. Pita bread, that is. And after I made a few Sammie’s for the week (market pantry (Target) brand has a tequila lime chicken that is awesome!) I had one left over, so I made it into a pizza:

20130414-183630.jpg
Made it with some of my Black Market Marinara and it was delicious! Holla!

Hope you had a great weekend, goofballs! Xo

Leave a Reply

