Biscuits, Only Better

Not a clue why I woke up craving a biscuit with turkey bacon, cheese & egg, but I did. So, I gave myself a gel manicure (Sally Hansen home kit is awesome, btw) and waited for the feeling to pass. One hour and two coffees later, I was still wanting for la biscuit.

Biscuits are important in the south, as you can imagine. I imagine holiday dinners featuring all kinds of arguments coming to blows over whose biscuits are the flakiest, whose are the most buttermilky, etc… Ok, that probably doesn’t happen, but I like the thought of that, a lot.

A while back, I made my own biscuit mix and put it in the fridge in case of a biscuit emergency. Voila! Biscuit emergency, people!!! Here’s how I made the mix:

8 Cups all – purpose flour
1/4 Cup baking powder
1 Tbsp salt
2 Cups shortening (I used butter flavor)

In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients. Cut in shortening until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Store in an airtight container in a cool dry place or in the freezer for up to 8 months.

To make biscuits: combine 2 1/4 cups mix, 2/3 cup milk and knead 8 times. Roll out and cut with biscuit cutters. Bale at 450 degrees for 8-10 minutes.

20130406-111231.jpg
I brushed mine with butter when they came out of the oven. Oh, and also added some leftover cheddah that I had hanging around before kneading the dough.

They hit the biscuit spot, Yo. Don’t know if they’d win any family holiday biscuit fights, but they are definitely a contender. Give them a try.

Have a great weekend, goofballs! Xo

20130406-111445.jpg

Leave a Reply

