I’m Awfully Fondant of You

FondantBunny

Hell yeah, I made some fondant, yo. It’s incredibly easy and the homemade stuff (well, MY homemade stuff) tastes WAY better than store bought. Plus it’s way cheaper & you can brag that you did it yourself & bask in the glory of your friend’s envy of yo’ skillz. Haha.

Wanna know the secret? Flavor it. Lmao. Yep, there it is.

Ingredients:
1 bag of mini marshmallows
1 T almond extract
1 T vanilla extract
2 lb bag of powdered sugar

So, throw the marshmallows (minus the 4 or 5 you ate. Yeah, I saw you) in a large glass bowl. Pour the extracts over the ‘mallows. Cook on high in microwave for a minute. Stir. Put back in until they are melted. Make sure you only do 15 second intervals. Mine only needed a total of 75 seconds to get all liquidy). Stir until smooth, adding powdered sugar in small amounts until you reach your desired consistency. WHAT is the desired consistency, you ask? Well, somewhere between my arm is about to fall off & it’s not sticky anymore. Should be similar to a semi- dryish cookie dough.

Now….portion it out & color with gel paste colors (use clean gloves or you’ll dye your hands) as needed. It will actually keep in a zippy bag for about a week on your counter, but I don’t recommend keeping much longer than that. It’ll get too hard to work with.

To use it, roll out to desired thickness (I usually do 1/8″) and cut shapes out or cover your cake, or make cute cupcake toppers. Whatever makes you happy. I’m using this batch to make decorations (bunny ears, nose) for the cake pops I’m bringing into work for my Easter treats. Lucky coworkers!

So, since I made my cake pop stand, I can’t wait to use it. I’ll post a pic later in the week when I have it all done. Have a great Saturday, goofballs!

Leave a Reply

