Cough Much?

…well no, not yet. But I feel a cold coming on, so I made a batch of cough syrup tonight. 1/4 cup fresh-squeezed lemon juice, a cup of honey, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/4 tsp ground ginger. Delicious and effective. Hope I don’t need it, but in case I do, I’m all set:

20130313-195710.jpg
Oh, I also have taken on a new health/beauty routine; detox baths. Just saying it makes me long for one right now. I believe the intent is to draw the toxins from your body, though I find it relaxes me, gives me time to detox my brain from the day, and makes my skin super soft, along with the detoxing benefits. I mixed a big batch so I don’t have to constantly mix more… 4 cups baking soda, 2 cups sea salt, 2 cups Epsom salts, 4 Tablespoons ground ginger. Mix it all up good to combine. I keep this mixture in a large glass mason jar and put a cup of the mixture in a bathtub full of super hot water (a “lobster bath”, as my Ma’ma calls them) and get in. Sometimes I add some essential oils as well, sometimes I don’t. Lavender, peppermint, tea tree, citrus? All good choices. (People also say that they have added a cup or so of apple cider vinegar, but I haven’t tried that yet.) Anyway, relax in the bath for at least 30 minutes. You’ll probably begin to sweat a whole lot (that’s the ginger working, I think) and it will have the same effect on you as a sauna, only without the half naked old guys leering a you. Sooooo, you’ll have to drink a lot of water after your bath to replenish your fluids. Trust me, don’t skip this step or you could get a horrible migraine from dehydration. I’m not a doctor, and I have no idea if this actually works, or if its just relaxing, but I feel way better when I do this a few times a week, and you bet your cute little bootys that everyone on my Christmas list is getting a nice big batch. Good thing I have all year to get that done. 🙂

So, that’s about all I have for now. Have a fantastic night, goofballs! Xo

Leave a Reply

