Week’s End

Well, it was an incredibly long and crazy week, and honestly, with everyone around me getting sick and with the nasty rainy weather, I wasn’t going anywhere. Plus, I got a steroid shot in my foot and was told to “rest, dammit” by the doc. You don’t have to tell me twice. I did rest, but I also did a few projects I’ve been wanting to do.

Orange Vinegar. I saw this on Pinterest and thought it was great. I peeled about three oranges (looked for really nice sized oranges with pretty colored peels when I was in the store), put the peels only in a large mason jar, then covered the peels with white vinegar. In about two weeks, I will have a great natural and amazing smelling household cleaner. Plus it looks cool on your counter.

20130224-153301.jpg

Next I knew I wanted to make Pinto Beans, so I covered the dry beans with water and started them soaking on Saturday morning. More on that later.

I also made salami. It came out ok, but I’m pretty sure I over-mixed the meat and seasonings so it came out looking more like bologna and less like salami. Tastes great, though. Would be even better if I had a slicer. But stay tuned for my second attempt, coming soon.

Made another batch of cough drops (chamomile & honey flavor) to take to work with me in case there are still coughing people in our building. They are even better than the first batch since I added the tea and some doTerra On Guard essential oil to them. Delish!

What else? Oh yes, today while the beans were cooking, I made Olive Oil Braised Carrots:

1 lb. of carrots, peeled and sliced in half
1/4 Cup chicken broth (I used turkey stock from Thanksgiving I had in the freezer)
1/8 Cup olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon kosher salt

Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Peel and slice carrots & place in a single layer in a 9 x 13 pan. Whisk olive oil, chicken stock and all spices in small bowl and drizzle over carrots. Cover with aluminum foil and bake for 30-40 minutes. Sooooo good. Try them.

20130224-154339.jpg

Then the beans. Oh those pedestrian, lovely beans. I diced an onion and a green pepper and softened them up in a large Dutch oven. Then I added the beans, covered them with water, added Goya lite adobo seasoning, kosher salt, chili garlic sauce, worcestershire sauce, red pepper flakes, black pepper and cooked them, covered, for 3 1/2 hours. When they were almost done, I ,asked a few of the beans to thicken the liquid. It made a ton, so I canned a few jars en filled some plastic containers for work for the next few weeks. Delicious and comforting.

Well, goofballs, that’s about it. Have a great Sunday!

20130224-155800.jpg

Leave a Reply

