Cupid and Me

…are not so much friends these days. Well, unless you subscribe to the viewpoint that he just can’t find anyone good enough or worthy of my treats, then I suppose we are the best of friends and he has my back. I’m going to try to look at it like that. At least for tonight.

What…a day. I started it off by bringing these beauties (red velvet cupcakes with vanilla bean cream cheese frosting) to work for my workmates: (the chocolate hearts are heart-shaped junior mints. What, what!?)

20130214-180915.jpg
They were a huge hit, I was so glad to do my part to over-sugartize my co workers. My officemate made the cutest candy baskets and we decorated the kitchen area. What fun!

So, after eating an apple and some crackers for lunch, I decided it was time to treat myself to a fantastic dinner. I had been marinating a flank steak in my favorite marinade for a day:

Chrissy’s flank steak marinade:
1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
1/3 cup honey
1/4 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
1 teaspoon minced garlic

But how I cooked it was the best part. (Ok, eating a few slices was the best part, but the method was fantastic & better than setting off the smoke alarm, like I usually do.)

Line (the bottom piece) of your broiler pan with aluminum foil, and add a couple cups of water. Put your marinaded steak (that’s come up to room temperature) on top of the broiler pan, and place under broiler for 14 minutes (adjust for thickness, mine was approx. 1″ thick). Remove from broiler and let rest 10 minutes before gobbling eating. The water in the pan keeps the juices from burning & smoking up your oven/kitchen/apartment/stairwell PLUS it helps keep the steak juicy. Holla!

So, what to go with this beautimous flank? I remembered seeing a post (on Pinterest of course) that mentioned using the microwave to make potato chips. I thought this would be fun and perfect for my dinner with my Cupid. (Aka Jackson B.)

Microwave potato chips (don’t judge, they are freaking awesome!)
1 Idaho baking potato
Cooking spray (Pammy!)
Salt and/or other seasonings

Slice potato with mandolin (very thin). Use the hand guard so you don’t end up at the ER on Thanksgiving paying your $50 hospital copay for a stupid bandaid and a lump of bacitracin ointment because you waited too long to go get stitches, idiot. (Me, not you.) Anyway, spray the slices with the Pammy spray & sprinkle lightly with any salt or spices you want to use. Place on parchment paper and cook in microwave for 4-6 minutes. Watch them after 4 minutes and look for the ends to curl and them to start browning VERY SLIGHTLY. (See picture below.) Remove from microwave and let cool for a minute before eating. They reminded me so much of potato sticks. Yuuuuuuummmmmm.

All in all a great & fun day. It didn’t feel a thing like Singles Awareness Day. 😉

Happy Valentine’s Day to me. And to you, Goofballs! Xoxo

20130215-172938.jpg

Leave a Reply

