Cinnamon Roll Baked Oatmeal Cups

What did y’all do today? Seriously, that sounds weird with a NJ accent, yo. I went to get my taxes done, got a hair chop (when it’s over a 2″ change, it should be called a chop) and made oatmeal. Again. Not sure I wanted the hair this short, but it grows fast & change is a good thing. 🙂

I’m obsessed with (oh so many things) oatmeal. yeah, thats lame for sure. But, getting the right balance of tasty and still a good for you breakfast item has had a special place in my heart for a while now. Wait, that’s especially lame. Well, I’m a hopeless case then… Destined to be an oatmeal nerd.

So I have been trying to find a non-traditional muffin (no added flour, eggs, etc) portable type way to bring my oatmeal with me to work for breakfast. I don’t like to make oatmeal in the microwave, it always explodes on me, and the cleanup is a huge pain in the ass. So….I found this recipe the other day, and figured I’d give it a try. I made mine without the icing- it made me feel like it was more dessert-y with it, and I was looking for tasty but healthy.

I did add a small amount of chopped pecans to mine (almonds would be good too). Yum.

The recipe only made 3 ramekins, enough for the weekend, but I doubled the recipe and put them in standard size muffin tins. Minis would be cool too, but I always feel like I eat too many of those.

All I have to say is… Healthy & delicious. This is going to be a breakfast staple for this oatmeal nerd girl.

Oh, and I’ve been furiously making dryer balls so I can put them on my Etsy Shop, but today, while taking my clothes (& the balls) out of the dryer, one fell on the floor, and boy do they ever look like dog toys… There was no way JB was giving it back. We have been playing.fetch.all.day.

20130202-181932.jpg

20130202-182746.jpg

Leave a Reply

