It’s Called Poundcake For A Reason

My new officemate at work loves poundcake. It’s like her favorite thing ever. So, I promised her I would bring one in a few weeks ago, and I finally got around to it this weekend. My Grammie and my Nephew (the Cornball) love this cake. The Cornball eats it toasted for breakfast. OMG yum! It even finally made it into our family cookbook I had printed at Blurb.com a few years ago. It couldn’t be simpler, but it is without a doubt the best homemade version I’ve ever tasted. And it always comes out perfectly. I wish I could tell you where I found the original recipe, but it’s been tweaked a bit in the flavorings department so many times from the original, I know that for sure. I prefer a poundcake that has a subtle lemon-esque flavor rather than a full on lemon assault to your taste buds that some have. So, I temper that with vanilla extract, lemon extract, and butter extract for the perfect (IMHO) flavor combination.

So, here’s my recipe for Foolproof Poundcake:

1 Cup Butter (I use salted for this, since you don’t add any salt to the recipe)

1 Pint Heavy Whipping Cream

6 Eggs

3 Cups Granulated Sugar

3 Cups All Purpose Flour

1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract

1 teaspoon Lemon Extract

1 teaspoon Butter Extract

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Grease & flour (or use Pam Spray with the Flour already in it, like I do) a bundt pan.

Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Add eggs one at a time, then add extracts, while mixing. Add flour, one cup at a time, alternating with the heavy cream, until it is all incorporated and velvety smooth.

Bake for 90 minutes (mine usually only takes 75 minutes) or until center springs back when poked. (Hey, you pokin’ my cake, bub?)

Immediately turn out onto Wire rack to cool. 

So.Yum. It’s staring me in the face right now. I had a piece for breakfast, and I might just have another one for lunch.

Later, Goofballs! Happy Baking.

Poundcake

Leave a Reply

