Suds & Duds

I think I’ve mentioned before that I have easily-angered skin. I get itchy patches of eczema that flare up occasionally. When I was very young, I had horrible eczema and my mother figured out it was caused by the detergent and fabric softener she was using. As soon as she switched to a more mild type, it went away.

So… I have been doing research again. Not only are more gentle laundry soaps more expensive, they also usually come in smaller containers than your regular Tide or Gain, etc… brands. I don’t do a lot of laundry (it’s just me & the Jackaroo in the house right now, so laundry doesn’t pile up) but I do hate to lug those bottles home every so often, (not to mention the waste the bottles create) and more than anything, I hate that they make me break out in a rash anyway, even if they are “allergy friendly.”

What the hell am I getting at? (Spit it out, woman!) I made my own laundry detergent today. It was easy- it smells great, uses nothing I’m allergic to, was cheap to make a ton of it (likely will last me a year or more) and is homemade. Woop on all the above! Holla!

Here’s what I did to make enough to fill my gallon glass container ($7 from La Target) & enough leftover to fill a small Purex Crystals container:

5 cups baking soda (2 lb. box) 
1/2 box Borax
1/2 box Arm & Hammer washing soda
1 bar Fels Naptha soap (or Zote soap)
1 small container Purex Crystals (optional)
1/2 box Oxy Clean powder (optional)

Grate the soap in your food processor. (You can do this with a box grater, but why would you if you have a food processor? Even my lame-ass processor worked for this- it only took a couple seconds) then add all other ingredients and mix together with your hands (I suggest using kitchen gloves). I say the Purex Crystals are optional but they really make your wash smell good and I am into that BIG TIME! Place the well-mixed concoction into the container of your choice and use about 2-4 Tablespoons in each load of laundry, depending on the size of the load. It won’t create suds but it will definitely get your clothes clean. Using this for laundry detergent combined with using the wool dryer balls in the dryer (instead of fabric softener) has really cut down on the awful eczema flare-ups, and saved me some big bucks also. Big Yay!

Gonna go relax finally. What a busy weekend! Later, goofballs!

20130120-125611.jpg

Leave a Reply

