Honey Vanilla Peanut Buttah

Been away for a few days- my 95 1/2 year old Grammie had a health scare and I was a complete mess for a few days. Not sleeping, constant migraine, and definitely no cooking, baking or creating. Being so far away and not being able to rush to her side was awful for me. I have an amazing family, and they were all there, so she was in great hands. She is out of the woods and will be back home this weekend, so we are all breathing a sigh of relief.

I was back in the kitchen bright and early this morning, thanks (as usual) to early riser puppy. I’ve been wanting to make my own peanut butter for a while now, (its on the ever-growing list I keep of “wanna-do recipes/projects”) so 5:17 am was as good a time as any, I suppose. It didn’t work the way I thought it would. If I wasn’t convinced before, I am now that I have the world’s worst food processor and I must get a better one soon. That being said, my lame ass processor did an okay job and the end result is delicious. I had a bag of honey roasted peanuts in the pantry so I used them. Here’s the recipe I used for mine:

About 2 cups of honey roasted peanuts (eyeball it, yo)
Seeds from 2 vanilla beans
3 T honey
1T vanilla extract

Process peanuts in food processor until they become a fine powder. They will turn I to a ball of dough-looking stuff, then will suddenly liquefy. Well, get more liquid-like at least. Process until desired smoothness, then add any flavors if desired. I am keeping mine in a mason jar on the counter. It may end up in the fridge, but I didn’t want it to get too hard to spread on an apple later today. I’ll get back to you on that. The PB is delicious, give it a try sometime, hopefully with your good quality food processor. Headed out to do my bi-monthly grocery shop. Have a great weekend! Later, goofballs.

20130119-063633.jpg

Leave a Reply

