Not the weirdest thing that happened to me on the stairs

I made this puppet and brought it to work. Marvin got a lot of action in that place.

I made this puppet and brought it to work. Marvin got a lot of action in that place before we moved on.

I just lost half my sandwich because it fell down into my shirt. Well, into my bra mostly. So, I am sitting here mourning the loss of my lunch, and wondering, do I reach in there to get it out? Or risk the walk downstairs to the Ladies Room (LR), and possibly trail crumbs the whole way? And yes, I absolutely have to walk by my Boss’ office to get there. So what happens? Rather than just reaching in there to get it out, because there is a ton of traffic in my hallway and I always get caught doing weird stuff, I choose to tread carefully to the LR and act like a grown up.

Worst. Case. Scenario. 

I carefully walk downstairs, feeling more crumbs fall with every step. When I get to the third to last step, a coworker that is leaving for lunch enters the stairwell. (And not one of the nice, fun ones.) Right at that very moment, the bread and cheese fall out of my shirt, onto the floor in front of this coworker that probably already thinks I am a spaz. (Which is an honest assessment at times.) So, what do I do? Besides turn bright red, of course, I lean down, pick it up, and say, “oh, I was looking for that” and kept walking. I can only imagine the rumors that will be flying after this debacle.

How can I just walk away like that, all cool and nonchalant, you ask? Because this isn’t the weirdest thing that happened to me on the stairs. Once I had pants on that were way too big and as I was climbing the stairs, they fell right down. I mean, completely down around my ankles down. Fortunately, this was pretty early in the morning and there wasn’t too much traffic on the stairs, and I don’t think anyone witnessed this. But I know it happened, and I cringe every time I think about there being a camera in the stairwells. I’m sure Security had a field day with that one. So you too would be able to walk away with a smile and a witty comeback if you were a klutz like me with lots of practice embarrassing yourself.

Later, goofballs. Keep your pants up and your sandwich out of your shirt!

One thought on “Not the weirdest thing that happened to me on the stairs

Leave a Reply

