Coconut Oil Body Butter

Happy New Year! I fell asleep sometime
After 10 and definitely before midnight. Then I woke up around 12:04 when the people who live above me decided to start doing Tae Kwon Do or jumping jacks or (ahem) something else, very aggressively. I guess that’s one way to start the new year with a bang. 🙂 Anyway, it’s 2013 and I have big plans for this year… Notice I say “plans” and not resolutions. I really feel like resolutions, while good intentioned, sometimes can end in failure and make you feel pretty shit-tay about yourself, so I make plans. Plans can be altered, changed & hopefully well thought out. So, I’ll tell y’all more about my “plans” later. Right now it’s time to tell you about my first project of 2013, and it’s all about the lotion, baby.

It puts the lotion in the basket… The gift basket that is! This morning I made a batch of coconut oil body butter that would make anyone you give it to cry tears of joy & thanks. I’ve been reading a lot about the benefits of coconut oil the past few months, and while I already cook with it and know its good to eat, I know there are a ton of other uses.

I use coconut oil in my lip balm & solid lotion bars, (which are amazing for severe dry patches) but sometimes you just want something that’s the texture of a more liquidy & velvety cream or lotion. And here it is:

20130101-100405.jpg
So, I put a bunch (eyeball it by the container you plan to use) of solid coconut oil (drvita.com has the organic stuff in a manageable 54 oz container for the best price around, IMHO) in the bowl of my Kitchenaid mixer and added a few tablespoons of sunflower oil. Why sunflower, you ask? Because I have also done research on which oils are best for my skin type (oily) and this one is a winner for me. So are almond oil, grapeseed & olive oils). Also, adding the liquid oil will help keep the coconut oil creamy & lotion-like and keep it from solidifying at room temp.

Once in the mixer, I used the whisk attachment and whisked the mixture on high for about 3 minutes while I played catch with Jackson B.

20130101-101432.jpg
I added a few drops of vitamin e oil & grapefruit essential oil. Awesome. Try it, goofballs. You will love it!!!

One thought on “Coconut Oil Body Butter

Leave a Reply

